Programme overview

Erasmus+ is the current European Commission programme for general and professional education, youth and sport. Erasmus+ combines the existing EU programme for lifelong learning, youth and spot and the Erasmus Mundus programme. Erasmus+ comprises three key actions:

Erasmus+ has a budget of 14.7 billion euros. More than four million people will benefit from this support by 2020. The programme runs for 7 years. It improves skills and improves career opportunities. Erasmus+ also supports initiatives which promote innovations in education and professional training for children and young people. Further information on Erasmus+ can be found on the website of the European Commission.


The Erasmus+ budget is primarily used for learning mobility within Europe. From 2015 onwards, it has also supports individuals outside of the EU. By 2020, approx. 2 million students will benefit from Erasmus+, including more than a quarter from Germany. This includes students in every phase of their studies or internship abroad. Students on Bachelor’s, Master’s or PhD courses will be supported for a guaranteed period of up to 12 months. In order to generate higher financial stimulus for the period abroad, the monthly stipend can be increased, especially for countries with higher costs of living.

University graduates can receive financial support for an internship abroad. Erasmus+ students who wish to complete a Master’s course abroad are guaranteed a low-interest loan. The former Erasmus Mundus programme (for highly qualified students who wanted to complete their Master’s degree abroad) is now part of Erasmus+.


Erasmus+ also supports the internationalisation of universities. It funds short teaching and training periods abroad for lecturers and employees. Universities may also invite representatives from companies abroad for guest lectures or to participate in multilateral strategic partnerships, in order to develop joint innovative projects (for example, in curriculum development or other education-related topics). Financing of collaboration projects between universities and companies is made available by the new Erasmus+ Knowledge Alliances. Universities which wish to be included in the development of capacities in the development countries can do this in the international partner universities within the Erasmus+ programme.


Financing for most of the mobility programme and strategic partnerships is organised by the national agencies of the 33 countries participating in the programme (28 EU countries, Iceland, Liechtensein, Macedonia, Norway and Turkey). In Germany, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) supports and implements the programme.

The following mobility programmes are supported by Erasmus+:

Erasmus Charter

All institutes for higher education which participate in the EU programme in the fields of education, training, youth and sport, from the period covering 2014 to 2020, must be conferred with the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE). This charter is awarded by the European Commission within the framework of an accreditation procedure and is intended to guarantee a quality framework for all participants in the mobility measures. The charter and the European Policy Statement (EPS) must be made available on the university website. Both documents can be found below in our Downloads area.

Liability clause

This project is financed with support from the European Commission. The responsibility for the content of this website is exclusively that of the author. The European Commission shall not accept liability for the available information.



daad logo


Further information and advice on Erasmus+ can be found at:

The German Academic Exchange Service
Nationale Agentur für EU-Hochschulzusammenarbeit
Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn

Tel: +49(0)228/882-578
Fax: +49(0)228/882-555

Home page: 


Erasmus Charter for University Education 2014-2020
European Policy Statement